… Death Note?!

Tuesday, August 19, 2008 rinachan
Tags: ,

I remember when I first heard the name of the anime. In my own words, all I thought was, “Ugh, another Naruto phenomenon.” After about half a year of hearing about it non-stop, my boyfriend started getting into the show. I couldn’t believe it even over-took him, too.

What was so interesting about a character that just sat around eating sweets? Why was everyone… obsessing over him? The kid was ‘cute,’ sure. But was that enough to get anyone interested in this show? Surely didn’t work on me.

After talking on the phone with my boyfriend, I realized he wasn’t paying his usual attention. So, I asked him, “What are you doing?” He replied, “Reading Death Note.” I had to get down to business after that. In the next few days, I received my usual monthly newsletter from Viz Media.

“Click here for the promotional code to download Death Note Episode 1 Rebirth.”

“Whaaat?! It’s stalking my email, too, now..?!”

Oddly, I found myself clicking for the promotional code. I was curious. The curiosity was killing me. And so, I downloaded it to my iPod. But I didn’t watch it just yet.

Talking to my boyfriend the next night, he was reading Death Note once again. That was the final straw. What was so special about this show?

I watched the first episode, thanks to the promotional code, that very night. Afterward, I told my boyfriend:

“Thanks a lot.”
“… For?”
“Thanks for introducing me to Death Note.”

Entry Filed under: Anime

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sublunaryxsoul  |  Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Am I the first to comment? Cool… =)

    It’s nice to know you’ve found an interest in Death Note — I’ve loved it for the longest time. xD

    What I found funny, though, was that the first thing you thought about L was “cute.” Had I seen him prior to the manga/anime, my mind would have skipped to “pedo,” or, at the very least, “emo villain.” =’D

  • 2. sublunaryxsoul  |  Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 3:03 am

    (But don’t be mistaken. I absolutely love L.)


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2008
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
